Race Report – Baltimore 10 Miler

This might be my shortest race recap ever ๐Ÿ™‚

It was nice weather for a June race, 68 degrees & overcast at the start. My boyfriend (S) and I got there early to beat the traffic and got to see a beautiful sunrise over Druid Lake as a reward.


Just before the race we met up with Sammy & her friends – Sammy and I were running, S and her friends were spectating.

Based on recent race times, I knew I was capable of running a 10 mile PR, but I had only really trained for 3 weeks for this, after taking 3 weeks easy after Boston. That, and I knew this course was ridiculously hilly in the second half, so I was doubting my PR chances before I toed the line.

I tucked in with the 1:15 pacers and told myself to stay with them for as long as possible, and if I felt strong, leave them at mile 7.

The first 5 miles were pretty easy, mostly rolling downhills, and the pace didn’t feel too hard. But it wasn’t comfortable either. At the the start, the pacers said they’d be running even 7:30 splits and I thought that sounded easy. I mean my half marathon pace is faster than that, and many of my tempo runs while preparing for Boston were around a 7:15 pace.

But my legs just didn’t feel speedy. I felt like I’d lost so much after Boston, and there was no way I could get back to were I was in 3 short weeks.

So I stuck with the pacers for most of the race, all the way through to mile 8.5. Then I slowly started drifting ahead, but I didn’t feel like I could kick it in either. I was thanking my lucky stars that it was partly cloudy and there was a nice breeze over the last few miles.

I passed Sammy coming into mile 9, but was too tired to say much to her other than hello.

For the final mile, I approached a guy who I have to thank for the way I finished. I mentally wasn’t feeling it, though I probably could’ve pushed harder. I wasn’t hurting the way I normally am at races where I give my all. He said “don’t leave me! You can stick with me!” anytime I drifted back. So I stuck with him though I knew I wasn’t running a strong race. When we had maybe .15 miles left, we came up behind a guy in a blue shirt and he said “you can catch him, do it!” So I pushed a little harder and he went with me. We passed the guy and blue and came into the finish together at 1:14:35.

I didn’t catch his name, but afterwards we exchanged a sweaty hug and words of thanks before I made my way through the finisher’s chute. I grabbed an ice cold towel and draped it around my neck, snagged a banana, andย ran into Sammy on my way to meet S.

We grabbed a free shirt & our premium, I grabbed one of my free beers, and we all sat in the grass to listen to the band play and relax for a bit.

The band wasn’t bad, but I found it funny that the singer kept congratulating everyone on their 10K race. Then somebody would correct him, and next time he mentioned the race it was a 10 miler. Then he’d go back to calling it a 10K. Poor guy couldn’t get it straight.

So I squeaked out a 5 second PR, but didn’t really feel like celebrating. I know I should.

  • My previous PR was run in crappy conditions- on snow and ice – but, it was flat as a pancake. So now my current PR is on a hilly course.
  • My PRs are usually run when it’s between 40 – 60 degrees. Not nearly 70.
  • Again, I didn’t train for months for this race like I did Boston. I took plenty of time off, then squeezed what I could into 3 short weeks of training.

I think I can’t shake the post race blues this time because I didn’t give the race my all. I could have run faster towards the end, I could have left the pace group behind earlier, but I didn’t. Mentally, I just wasn’t there.

I will say though, next time I sign up for a 10 miler, I’ll be focusing on it for more than 3 weeks. I’m ready for a big PR.

The question is…when will I do it?

16 thoughts on “Race Report – Baltimore 10 Miler

  1. Great race! You should plan to PR at the Broad St run in Philadelphia next May! It’s a great course if you don’t mind waiting 11 months : )

  2. Too bad there aren’t 10 milers more often! I like the distance and it always gives me some confidence about what I can potentially do in a half marathon. Great job- its a tough course and the weather usually doesn’t so it any favors. Congrats on the PR!

    • Agreed! They are a fun distance. It’s funny though, I feel quite the opposite, my HMs give me more confidence when it comes to stepping down to a 10 miler ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you! I’m thinking when I pick a serious 10 miler to train for it should NOT be in late Spring haha.

  3. Congrats on that PR!! I totally understand the post race blues, too. I get those! I love 10 milers, and I know for a fact you ran a hard course because I ran it when I first started running. I got my ass handed to me that day. You killed it, sister! Great job!!

  4. That’s so awesome! I’ve done a few 10-mile races in Pittsburgh and it’s such a fun distance to race. You crushed it! I just got a half PR and feel the same way as you do-that I could have done much better and kind of disappointed in my performance. We should celebrate and use this to improve in the future!

    • Thank you! & Agreed, it seems silly not to celebrate a PR. But it can be hard to shake the thought that you could’ve run a better race too. I guess that’s what future races are for ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Awesome job, Amber! Congrats on your PR! For it being such a hilly course and not ideal weather conditions, you really did amazing out there! I’ve never raced 10 miles before – perhaps I should…automatic PR right?! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Charissa! Summer is definitely not my prime time to race ๐Ÿ˜›
      10 milers are a great distance! I really want to focus on it after Boston next year. Plus, automatic PR = win, so you totally need to find one soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Congrats on your PR!! I ran the Baltimore 10 Miler too–it was great weather this year and soo funny about the band!! Awesome job ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

